top of page

Sacraments of Initiation

The three sacraments that are needed to become a Christian and a member of the Catholic Church are: Baptism, Confirmation, and the Eucharist.



Baptism is the first sacrament of initiation. It is the sacrament by which a person is cleansed of original sin (inherited from Adam and Eve) and initiated into the Christian faith. Through Baptism, a person becomes a member of the Church, and it is often referred to as being "born again" into the family of God.


Cross and Clouds

Confirmation is the second sacrament of initiation. In this sacrament, those who have been baptized receive the gift of the Holy Spirit in a special way. It is a sacrament of strengthening and deepening of the baptismal grace. Confirmation completes the grace of Baptism by sealing the recipient with the gifts of the Holy Spirit, empowering them to be active and mature participants in the life of the Church.

The Eucharist

Image by Jacob Bentzinger

The Eucharist, also known as Holy Communion or the Lord's Supper, is the third sacrament of initiation. It is the sacrament in which Catholics partake of the Body and Blood of Jesus Christ, under the appearances of bread and wine. Through the Eucharist, Catholics believe they are united with Christ and with one another in the Church. It is considered the source and summit of the Christian life.

bottom of page